top of page
  • stevemisenerpiano

Start at the beginning...

Updated: Mar 15, 2023

I have had this website for a number of years. Unfortunately, a few years ago it was hacked, and we had to take down the website and start over. I am now at a point that I am able to rewrite this portion of the story. I will start with a list of the exhibitions that I have hosted over the years.

May 2009, this was the first time I had exhibited a portion of the collection in a formal setting. Although not very formal, I cleaned up the shop and set up a number of pianos, etc., invited the local music teachers and talked about the history, engineering and development of the piano.

May 2010, I was able to use the auditorium space in Blue Cloud Abbey, a Benedictine Monastery near Marvin, South Dakota.

April - May 2011, I traveled with a portion of the collection to Freeport, Illinois. I have friends there and had been going to Freeport for piano work for a number of years. Through those connections I was able to exhibit at the Freeport Art Museum.

April - May 2012, I traveled to Clinton, Minnesota because of the generosity of the City of Clinton I was able to use their Municipal building. Pioneer Public TV from Appleton, Minnesota came and produced a segment for their local production of Postcards.

April - May 2013, I was hosted a show at the Dassel Area Historical Society Museum, known as the Ergot Museum. This unique building offered a multiple floor space of 4 levels.




May 2014, I was able to use a portion the Great Hall space at the Lutheran Church of Our Redeemer in Watertown, South Dakota.

April - May 2015 Through the generosity of Loome Theological Booksellers of Stillwater, Minnesota, I hosted an exhibition in their warehouse space. This space came with some challenges but was transformed into an incredible gallery space.




October 2015, I hosted a small exhibition at the Grant County Library in Milbank, South Dakota.

May 2016, I developed another exhibition titled "Spiritual Voices" in which I identified four ways which we hear from the Devine and showed how those ways played out in the major religions of the world. Although this was more than a music/instrument exhibition, I utilized the aspect of music is one way which we hear from the Devine.

September 2018, I exhibited at the Benedictine Center near Schuyler, Nebraska. This retreat facility has a large expanse of display area.



November - December 2019 I hosted a show in the Art Museum space at the College of Saint Mary in Omaha, Nebraska.




May 2021, I was at the Abbey of the Hills retreat Center near Marvin, South Dakota. The monastery closed in August of 2010 and a local group purchased the facility and have developed it into a retreat center.



I have photos from every show, unfortunately the USB drive that I have the early shows on has been corrupted and I have not yet been able to pull those photos of.

In 2020 I did a major overhaul on my home in Stockholm, South Dakota. As part of the remodeling, I added a music/library room and have since brought in a number of instruments to have on a semi-permanent display. I am willing to host small groups at a moment's notice, if I am home and around. I am also finding that loading a 26-foot U-Haul truck seems a bit more daunting than in the past.

More to come...

30 views0 comments
bottom of page